You are here::

Mendelssohn & Schumann

Sean Chen

Sean Chen

Catalina Foothills High School → view map

Saturday, March 7, 2015 at 2:00 PM and 8:00 PM
Sunday, March 8, 2015 at 2:00 PM

George Hanson, conductor
Sean Chen, piano

Beethoven: String Quartet No. 16, Lento assai (arr. Bernstein) TSO PREMIERE!
Mendelssohn: Piano Concerto No. 1
Schumann: Symphony No. 2

George Hanson comes full circle with Schumann’s uplifting Symphony No. 2 from the first TSO program he conducted, February 2, 1995. Sean Chen, an American Pianists Association award winner, was also a prize winner at the 2013 Cliburn Competition, the first American to make the finals since 1997. He will make his TSO debut performing Mendelssohn’s Italianate, technically virtuosic First Piano Concerto with its rapturous themes.

Mendelssohn founded the Leipzig Conservatoire (now the University of Music and Theatre Leipzig) and conducted the premiere of Schumann’s Symphony No. 2 in Leipzig, the same city where Maestro Hanson makes his second home.

Concert Comments with the conductor and/or guest artists occur one hour prior to each performance.  Complimentary with purchase of concert ticket.

Sean Chen is teaching a master class for the TSO.  Master classes are free and open to the public.  Click here to learn more.